April 2021

What kind of problems did you have at University in the last few months? 

The main problem I faced in the first few months of the academic year would have to be the fact that I was unable to register and be readmitted for the year because I was an inactive student in 2020. I had my hopes up everytime only to hear that there was another problem and registration had been moved back another month. I had to be very patient with the process and the day I got the email saying that I was registered I was very happy. 

What were your key learnings and achievements?

Even though academically I had many ups and downs, I learned a lot about myself and about my potential as a student.

During this time I had an amazing opportunity to work alongside 3 amazing women of God preparing meals for the UWC Varsity Cup Rugby team after their training sessions in preparation for their Bio-bubble in Pretoria.

I also had the opportunity to be on the Espresso Morning Show on SABC3. 

What are you currently working on at University? What does a typical day look like for you?

A typical day would look like the following: 

  • Get to campus 
  • Academic support admin work for Sport Skills for Life Skills 
  • Masters research
  • Prepare food for the rugby players 
  • Training 

What is your job situation – are you working while studying?

I am currently working as an intern for the Academic Support program at Sport Skills for Life Skills program while completing my masters. 

What is the Corona situation like in South Africa?

At this point we are still on COVID-19 Alert level 1 which means that most normal activity can resume, with precautions and health guidelines followed at all times. We are also still wearing masks 🙂

What is studying at UWC like more than a year after the beginning of the Covid-19 pandemic?

The pandemic didn’t really have an effect on my studies because I completed contact classes in 2019, however it was difficult for me when I struggled with registration because I find it’s better to have face to face contact with lectures and the administration staff regarding admin. But I must say campus feels empty and the culture of the university is definitely missed. 

What are your plans for your studies in 2021?

The main goal would be to complete my masters degree at the end of 2021 and further my studies if possible, God willing. 

What has changed with the scholarship by Kulu Manzi?

I would definitely say more security in the sense of not having the worries of student fees or debts hanging over my head. And the fact that I will always have the support of Kulu Manzi while I’m finishing this degree. 

What are your expectations for the cooperation with Kulu Manzi and how can we support you in the future?

I’m very excited to work with Kulu Manzi because their vision and their principles involve children and young adults by making use of sports and development as a tool to inspire and “get out” of poverty even if it’s just for that hour while participating in the programs provided. 

I am also very excited to get involved with various projects that Kulu Manzi has to offer and if COVID-19 allows, get involved in student exchange programs to have the opportunity to gain even more experience from other people and cultures in Sports Development. 

In this time I would like to grow even more in my profession as a Kinderkineticist and see how we can make our communities a better place by empowering our children with the necessary gross motor skills and overall development. 

What do you plan to do after your Master’s degree?

I would like to apply what I’ve researched through my degree in our communities and if possible give access to what we have to offer to children in disadvantaged communities.