Faheemah Davids

Faheemah Davids

In 2022 we will continue our scholarship program together with the University of the Western Cape in Cape Town. For the first time, we can award two scholarships this year. One of them goes to student Faheemah Davids. In this way we enable her to complete her diploma in “Sport, Development and Peace”, which would not have been possible with her own financial resources. Faheemah is from Belhar, a suburb of Cape Town. She has already completed a bachelor’s degree at UWC and is now doing her diploma. With our support, she can hopefully complete this successfully in 2022.


NameFaheemah Davids
Date of birth12/09/1997
LanguagesEnglish (mother tongue), Afrikaans
ResidenceBelhar, Cape Town
OccupationStudent (Sport, Development and Peace – University of the Western Cape)
Part- Time Waitering
Avon Sales Agent
EducationBA Sport, Recreation and Exercise Science (University of the Western Cape, 2016-2020)
Matric, Perseverance Secondary School
Belhar Primary School
InterestsYouth Development through Sport
Community Work

Family and Background

I was born and raised in Belhar, Cape Town. I currently live in Belhar with my mom and stepdad and two younger brothers. I went to school at Belhar primary and Perseverance High school. My parents had three girls of which I am the youngest. They got divorced when I was very young. My mom met my stepdad and he raised us as his own. Later on they had two sons, my dad remarried as well and also has two sons. My mom stays at home and looks after my sister’s kids and sometimes works as a cleaner at the same part time job as me and my stepdad works as a screen printer. I completed high school in 2015 and started University in 2016. Things got rough when I was in my second year, because I lost someone who I considered a second mom and that caused me to go into depression as I am a very emotional person. Because of that I failed my second year. I also failed my third year and had to redo it the next year again. I had to look for a part-time job to help with finances in the house while studying. At the end of the day I felt like giving up because a three year degree ended up taking me five years to complete but I never gave up. I had the support from my friends and family and what motivated me the most was that I was the first one in my family to go to university so I had no choice but to endure and complete my degree. I felt some kind of way when I found out that some high school class mates had already achieved and accomplished so much and here I was still stuck on my 3 year course. When I finally graduated, I realized that I shouldn’t allow other people’s timelines to rush mine.

I am the first person from my family to graduate from University. Although it took me a little longer than others, this is something I am incredibly proud of.


Education and plans for the future

I have a BA Degree in Sport Recreation and Exercise Science. I am currently doing my Post Graduate Diploma in Sport Development and Peace at the University of the Western Cape. I faced many challenges during my undergrad studies but I pushed through and obtained my degree and became the first one in my family to be a graduate. This was a huge milestone for me to achieve because I never imagined I would be where I am today. My plan for the future is to have my own wellness center. I want to have my own orphanage as well and help children find a safe and loving place to live. My career choice is to be a sports administrator. I enjoy doing sports admin because I volunteer at a rugby club as their Match and Registration secretary. Even though I do not have much knowledge in Rugby, I am learning each day and truly enjoy what I do. I also volunteer at an NPO that does afterschool sporting programs.


I am interested in the development of youth through sport by uplifting, empowering and encouraging them to become successful in life. I am also interested in community work and helping to build and establish my community by making it a safer place for children to grow up.

You can find out more about Faheemah and her development in the monthly reports.